Mac-N-Cheese

When my kids were small, I remember maybe a handful of times I may have bought the packaged stuff.

Even though I don’t see myself as a ‘good cook’, I wasn’t ever that bad.. no one ever died!  Even so, I would always make whatever it was from scratch.

Recently though, I’m really getting into it.

One of my old favorites, Mac-n-Cheese was always made with Velveeta until I visited someone who made it with white Extra Sharp and I was hooked.  It’s been years since Velveeta.

Last week shopping at Sam’s, I came across a 3-pack they had.  I don’t remember if it was the price or convenience, but I bought it.  Two sharp yellow and one sharp white.  Have to be honest – wasn’t real thrilled with the 2 yellows.

Tuesday nights I usually go out so it’s a ‘quickie’ meal and thought Mac-n-Cheese doesn’t take that long and made it right off the box of noodles.

With it just being the two of us, I split the recipe in half.

  • 1/4 Cup Butter
  • 1/4 Cup Flour
  • 2 1/2 Cups Milk
  • 8oz Sharp Cheese (I used 10oz)
  • 1/2 Box Noodles

Growing up, everyone I know rinsed off the noodles in cold water to stop the cooking but also to rinse off the starch.

Not long ago Mike’s daughter was over.  I was rinsing the spaghetti and she said, “you do that too?’  I was surprised.

She said that when she does that (which she’s always done, too), people ask her why and they’ve never heard of anyone doing that.

So, I don’t know.  Was I (we) raised different?  Wait, don’t answer that!  Anyone that knows me knows I’ve always been different, but we’ll keep it to the noodles right now!

Anyway, whatever you’re used to – go for it.  I’ll keep rinsing.

  • Cut slices of cheese, then in half and then quarters.  The smaller the pieces the quicker the cheese will melt.

Boil your noodles per the box.  (I just ordered a pasta machine so in the next month or so, you’ll be able to see me learning how to make my own).  Can’t wait!

Melt the butter, stir in the flour and add the milk.

Add your cheese and keep stirring!  It doesn’t take long at all.  Stir all the way to the bottom of the pan so you know all the pieces are melted.

Once all the cheese is melted, pour into baking dish over noodles.  Mix well.

I like to sprinkle some bread crumbs on it.  I came across some whole wheat, seasoned bread crumbs and really like them.

Cook it at 350 degrees for 30 – 45 minutes.

It really came out good, but I did forget the salt & pepper.  Oh well.   Something you can add later – no biggie.

Yummy!

Don’t buy box Mac-n-Cheese anymore!!

This can’t be any more simple, cheaper and much healthier for you to make it yourself.

This is like 4 servings for the two of us which cost probably about $2.50 all together to make?  $.65 a meal (2 people – .325 cents each)… can’t beat it with a stick!

Leave a Reply

