Banana Nut Loaf

Okay, okay! Who doesn’t know how to make Banana Nut Bread, right? Well actually, I never have.

At risk of being put in the trash soon, I searched for something to do with my browning bananas.  I love bananas but don’t necessarily care for them in muffins, breads or actually, have never been crazy about them any way except strait-up or in cereal.

Knowing there is just no way I’m going to eat these four bananas, I had half of one in my cereal this morning and decided  to use my 3 others in a banana nut bread.

Seemed easy enough with a recipe I found in my BH&G Complete Step-by-Step Cook Book and happened to have everything needed.

Lightly grease 9 x 5 pan and preheat oven to 350 Degrees.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Cups of flour
  • 3/4 Tsp Salt
  • 2 Tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/4 Tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 Cup of Shorting
  • 1/2 Cup of Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Tsp of Finely Shredded  Orange Peel
  • 2 Ripe Medium Bananas – Cut Up
  • 2 Tbsp Milk
  • 1/2 Cup Walnuts or Pecans

Directions:

In one bowl mix together ~

  • Shortening
  • Sugar
  • Eggs
  • Orange Peel

In another bowl ~

  • Flour
  • Salt
  • baking soda
  • baking powder

And in a third bowl ~

  • 2 smashed bananas (about 1 cup)
  • 2 Tbsp Milk

Alternate adding both the flour mixture and the banana/milk mixture into the shortening mixture until well blended.

Turn in the walnuts or whatever nuts you’re using.

Put into greased pan and bake at 350 degrees for 45 – 55 minutes and here’s your result.

Turn out of pan onto wire rack to cool.

Enjoy!

(Wish my wheat and raisin breads came out like this!)

Leave a Reply

