Cranberries – Dehydrated & Sauce

Since I’m just learning, when I have success, it’s a big deal (self pat on back).  Hey, no humility here!

Much better than my sad-looking roll-ups last week!

From two bags of fresh cranberries (16oz each), I ended up with approximately 3/4 full jar of dehydrated cranberries. Once rehydrated and cooked, 1/2 cup of dehydrated cranberries produced 1 cup of cranberry sauce.

Never had homemade cranberry sauce and have to say it’s pretty darn good.  So much better than store-bought and so easy to make.

Right out of the bag there were 6 cups.  Dehydrated, about 2, 2-1/2.  Not sure if I actually put them in the measuring cup.  I think they just went right into the jar, so that’s my guesstimate and I’m sticking with it!

Tammy gives you three ways to prepare for dehydrating the cranberries and I chose to chop them up raw in my food processor first.

Then, just place them on your dehydrator tray for about 12 hours.

Those two bags of chopped-up cranberries spread over three trays and let them go all night.

This morning when I took them out to cool before putting them into the jar, I started taking the first tray off and realized how much was falling through the bottom onto the counter.  I decided to place two paper towels under the tray to catch those really tiny pieces.  It worked out well.

After I funneled from the screen, I funneled from the paper towel and didn’t waste any.  There’s quite a bit there, isn’t there?

I also tried bending the screen to loosen the cranberries off instead of rubbing with my fingers.

That worked better, too.

Then, just funneled it into the jar and topped it of with an oxygen packet.  The jar sealed in no time.

Later in the evening, I took out the 1/2 cup dehydrated cranberries per Tammy’s recipe and it worked out perfectly.

I’ll never buy cranberry sauce in a can again!

It is kind of sweet so I think next time I may only put 1/2 cup of sugar.  But for now, it’s made for tomorrow and I’m sure will be great with the turkey breast.

Tammy’s Cranberry Sauce

  • 1/2 Cup Dehydrated Cranberries
  • 3/4 Cup Sugar
  • 1 – 1/2 Cups Water

Placed dehydrated cranberries in a pot with water and sugar.

Bring to a rapid boil.

Lower heat and let simmer until thickened.  Approximately 30 minutes.

Chill in refrigerator before serving or over night.

Mine came out exactly to one cup.  Couldn’t have planned it more perfect if I tried!

Thanks, Tammy!

Leave a Reply

